|Aveen and David - "Jardin des Plantes" (Garden of the Plants)|
Discovering "Le Marais", the Left bank (Latin Quarter et "Saint-Germain des Près"), the Louvre and "Ile de la Cité" is a journey through the time and a way of feeling the History of Paris.
Paris was damaged, bombarded but never totally destroyed as were London (Great fire of 1666) or Lisbon (Earthquake of 1755). In Paris, all the layers of History are represented (since the Roman Lutetia).
Our route thus led us:
- in the 12th century with Notre-Dame,
|Aveen and David - Notre-Dame seen from the Bridge of "La Tournelle" (the first stone was put in 1163)|
- in the 14th century with the magnificent "Hôtel de Sens",
- in the 16th century with the Carnavalet Museum (formerly "Hôtel de Carnavalet" and "Hôtel Le Peletier de Saint-Fargeau")
|David and Aveen - Carnavalet Museum. Look at the magnificent blazon of Paris above the door (1889). |
Carnavalet is the Paris museum (go there and discover the History of Paris through numerous exhibitions).
- and the place Dauphine, also created at the end of the 16th century,
|David et Aveen - Place Dauphine. |
Notice the buildings with the red bricks. Do not they remind you those that we see "Place des Vosges"? Look at the photo Place Vosges below. These two squares were created at the same time, Royal Places!
Let us admire now four beautiful places appeared in the 17th century:
- The "Jardin du Luxembourg" (Garden of Luxembourg),
|David and Aveen - |
The "Jardin du Luxembourg", created in 1612 by Marie de Médicis with the Palace of Luxembourg (now the French Senate).
- The "Jardin des Plantes", initially Royal garden of the Medicinal Plants created in 1626 (see the picture at the beginning of this article),
- The "Place des Vosges",
|David and Aveen - "Place des Vosges". |
Compare the building with the ones of "place Dauphine" (see the photo above).
- The "Hôtel de Sully".
|David and Aveen - The Hotel of Sully, magnificent Mansion in the "Marais", the residence of Duke of Sully, Minister of Finance of Henri IV (among others!).|
Our road also passes in the 19th century with the "Place de la Contrescarpe", created in 1852 in the location of a counter-scarp of Philippe Auguste's surrounding wall (12th century).
|David and Aveen - "Place de la Contrescarpe" |
In the back, the street Mouffetard which dates of the roman time.
Merci Aveen ! Merci David !
The route of the tour: